Faithful Strides: Day Fifteen

"God grant me the serenity to accept the things I can not change, courage to change the things that I can, and wisdom to know the difference." The Serenity Prayer

“God grant me the serenity to accept the things I can not change, courage to change the things that I can, and wisdom to know the difference.”
The Serenity Prayer

Day Fifteen
1 mile
For the next few days I feel like it is definitely time to turn the focus away from me and my own problems and focus more on the things that are going on around the world. As I woke this morning in the peace and quiet of my house to get ready for work I took a moment to listen to the news and it was so very disheartening to hear about the protests which continue to go on following the deadly shooting in St. Louis, Missouri. Then I listened to the tragedy which is taking place over in Iraq with the ISIS group taking aim at women and children Christians forcing them to renounce their faith and convert to Islamic beliefs and when they won’t they are killed on the spot. More and more these days the world feels like a boiling steam pot just waiting to blow it’s lid, and more and more I feel like I am getting smaller in the wake of it all and that my prayers are becoming less and less effective. Of course, as I thought this I heard God speak to me and remind me that that’s exactly how the devil wants me, wants us all, to feel. He wants us to feel like our prayers are falling onto deaf ears, because then if we believe that then ultimately we then have to believe that God is not real and we turn away from our faith. This morning, as I prayed about all that is going on in the world and I asked God just how I, as one person, can make a difference I heard Him speak to me once more and say, “Child, pray bigger, pray faithfully, and pray out loud. Let the world hear you pray for them and pray for the world, one new person at a time.” That took me right back to my other blog that I have called, “The Progressive Prayer Project”. The idea behind the “Prayer Project” is that whenever you come across someone you feel needs to be prayed for you pray for them, whether you know them or not, then you hand them a card (or some sort of souvenir) to let them know that you prayed for them, then you ask that person to pass on the card and pray for someone else. The idea being that we all genuinely and sincerely pray for God to show up in someone else’s life and one by one, person by person, we can bring the peace and the love and the joy that is God back into this boiling steam pot world and we can begin to find healing and renewal in a better world. As I walked today the words of the Serenity Prayer stayed with me especially as I thought about and listened to all the wrong and all of the evil that is going on in the world. As you walk today take the words of the Serenity Prayer with you and then ask God to show you how you, too, can make a difference in this hurting world and listen for Him to tell you just how you can do that. Then follow God’s calling and be the change that you want to see in the world. The change that I want to see is for people to love one another, for us to share the love of Christ with those who need it all around us, and by sharing Christ’s love this world which has become so violent and so out of control can come closer to knowing true peace and joy for this generation and for generations to come.

Leave a Reply

